Thursday, March 22, 2012

Be Careful What You Call It (Prestige)


pres·tige/presˈtēZH/

Noun:
  1. Respect and admiration felt for someone or something on the basis of their achievements or quality.
  2. Denoting something that arouses such respect or admiration.


It was recently announced that on EverQuest II that the level cap is moving from 90 to 92, but that in order to get into those levels, you have to have at least 280 AA points. Then you get to start earning "prestige points" every other mini-ding.

Okay, now that I've lost just about everyone who doesn't play EQ2 or a similar game...

Can I just say that killing everything that's killable just to get experience points and AA points should not qualify you for something called "prestige?" Maybe consider a name change. I like "Minmax Points," "Raider Points" or "Munchkin Points." That way you don't have people who create characters that fit themselves into the game world, work to further their chosen cause, and refuse tasks that go against that character's belief being marginalized since they likely don't qualify for "prestige."

They don't necessarily need a name. They're already called "role players." That's what "RP" stands for in "MMORPG." But to think that they shouldn't be considered for or deserve prestige because they haven't killed enough mobs or done enough grinding makes no sense.

I am wondering if SOE is going to change the rules for Veteran Bonus. Currently you get a 10% Veteran Bonus for each character at the level cap. Now that the level cap is moving to 92 with a barrier for entry, I'm not likely to even have a Veteran Bonus any time soon. I'm not far off at 90/253 - 27 AA to go - but what's between 253 and 280 but a grind?

Labels:

Monday, March 12, 2012

Censoring Radio

Speaking of censorship... Wait, who was speaking of censorship? I was, over in my other blog (http://nanobrett2008.blogspot.com/2012/03/7-dirty-words-reading.html) talking about George Carlin. It annoys me when radio stations censor words that aren't expletives. Most recently that happened with "crystal meth" in the song Semi-Charmed Life by Third Eye Blind. Pretty much the whole song is about crystal meth, but heaven forbid we say those two words together! I guess that's why that radio station doesn't play anything by The Crystal Method.

Another example that is very similar is censoring "nuts" in the song The Bad Touch by Bloodhound Gang. I mean, c'mon, like the rest of the song has no double entendre or suggestive lyrics? Really? It makes me stop listening to that station.

Going a step further, there was the Aerosmith song, Jamie's Got a Gun, where the lyric, "and put a bullet in his brain" was replaced by another section of the song so that the lyric didn't sound as censored. Trouble is, it's the wrong lyric. It's noticeable and annoying.

What I really hate, though, is when the tempo of the song is thrown off so that the offending section can be removed from the whole. This happens with Rage Against the Machine and several others. The end of Killing in the Name, starting around 4:10, gets completely hacked or excised in its entirety, leaving behind a jump cut to the song's closing.

If you feel you have to censor songs like that, you might reconsider even playing the censored version in the first place. Maybe stick to some light rock from the 70's when these topics were never even broached. Oh, wait, maybe they were. Afternoon Delight, anyone?