Happy?
Alright, I just realized I posted two blogs in a row that labeled me as "happy." This probably requires a little explanation.In my other blog, I posted something about having dipped my toe in the dating pool, and then falling in. I had created a profile on some of the free online dating sites to see what there was out there in the dating world. Since my profile still listed me as "separated" or something like that, I didn't get a lot of interest from people. Apparently, some men will use these sites as a way to find people to sleep with while they're still supposedly happily married. Sheesh. I don't have a lot of respect for cheaters, and I'm a reformed cheater myself. Not that I slept around on Dana, because I didn't.
Through these sites, I chatted with a few different people. I'll use the short version of their names for this quick run-down, like "B" instead of Brett.
"A" was chronologically too young for me - 12 years younger - but it might have been unfair to dismiss her solely based on that. She is still a nice girl. We did meet in person. She started out by teasing me about my profile. The site asked "favorite food" and I listed out about 9 different things. What can I say? I like food!
"A2" was nice enough, but we never met in person. She posted one of those silly MySpace bulletins that tells you what to put in the subject line under different circumstances. Well, what she put in the subject line indicated that she was taken. When I asked her about it, she told me she was now engaged! Well, good bye, good luck.
"C" and I actually met, but I knew it wasn't going to go anywhere. She got kindof "Fatal Attraction" on me, but did eventually go away. I know I pissed her off. But honestly, what do you do when someone says, "tell me we are just friends and I'm okay with it," then you tell her you're just friends, and she goes postal on you?
In terms of actions, "J" reminded me waaaay too much of my first wife, so that was a non-starter. It's odd, though, since she and I still chat once in a while to keep up on what's going on in life. That's cool.
"E" and I talked over IM and on the phone, but never met. I actually ignored her completely when I started talking to the girl who has become my girlfriend, which annoyed "E." She took a couple cheap shots at me in what became our last IM conversation. I didn't tell her why I didn't talk to her, but she made an assumption that it was because I met someone else. She was right. To be honest, I really didn't think of her while I started seeing...
...Ray. This would be the "falling in" part of my dating pool experience. She and I have been together for a little over two months now. Most of the time, she is the other part of "we" that I keep writing about and not defining (intentionally). Then again, if you haven't been in touch lately, you may or may not know that Dana and I filed for divorce, or that she moved out three months ago.
There are some who thought that Ray and I started seeing each other before Dana moved out, before the divorce was filed, etc., but they would be wrong. The timing was interesting, to be sure, but it wasn't until shortly after I returned from my vacation in New Jersey with the kids that Ray and I started seeing each other. Sure, we have known OF each other for six years or so, and spent some time together on IFGS stuff, but we never REALLY got to know each other in all that time. We have a lot in common, and we have differences. It's been fun trying to sort out which is which. The end result: I've been a lot happier.
...but now it's getting late. I'm off to bed. :-)
Labels: love


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home